Sprache der Dinge – Language of Things

Materialität, Realität und Konfliktivität in Museologie, Archäologie und anderen dinglichen Wissenschaften / Materiality, reality and conflictivity in museology, archaeology and other material sciences

Stipendien suchen – und plötzlich alt sein. / Searching for grants – and suddenly being too old.

Leave a comment

Natürlich habe ich hier schon öfter über Stipendien berichtet und meine eigenen Stipendienanträge laufen weiter bzw. sind bereits für nächstes Jahr geplant. Heute geht es aber um einen Aspekt, der nur ganz selten angesprochen wird, wenn man mit anderen Menschen über die Stipendiensuche spricht: das Alter.

Als ich meine ersten Stipendien bekam, war ich Anfang/Mitte 20 und damit, und einem recht ausgefallenen Studienfach sowie Grundlagenforschungen an der Basis der Archäologie, in bislang unerforschten Regionen dieser Erde, eine wohl interessante Kandidatin für Stipendien. Auch mein Promotionsstipendium zur Durchführung der Feldforschung bekam ich mit 29 Jahren zugesprochen. Dann jedoch änderten sich die Zeiten.

Eine Ehe zu führen ist kein Stipendienhindernis – ein Kind jedoch sehr wohl. Nach der Geburt unseres Kindes wollte ich mich nicht mehr darauf verlassen, eventuell durch Stipendien meinen Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen und auch nur halbwegs feste Stellen sind ja in der Geisteswissenschaft bekanntlich kaum zu finden, geschweige denn zu bekommen. Also widmete ich mich für einige Jahre einem nicht-archäologischen Brotberuf. Solange, dass ich nun mit Mitte/Ende 30, auf vielen Stipendienseite die Ansage sehe: “Bewerber/innen bis 30 Jahre….”. Manchmal auch bis 35. Beides ist für mich obsolet, denn beides liegt hinter mir. Die Entscheidung, für ca. 5 Jahre einen anderen Beruf auszuüben und für Sicherheit zu sorgen hat mir viele Türen verschlossen – jetzt, da das Kind größer und auch meine Forschungsenergie wieder vorhanden ist. Es gibt Tage, an denen es mich ärgert kostbare Zeit (die ich mir neben Arbeit und Familie immer wieder nehme) im Internet zu verschwenden und die AGB´s verschiedener Stipendienanbieter durchzulesen nur um dann irgendwo ganz unten die magische Zahl zu sehen, die bedeutet: umsonst informiert.

Natürlich gibt es sie, die Stipendienanbieter OHNE Altersbeschränkung. Aber es sind sehr sehr wenige. Und ich würde auch gerne nochmal etwas Neues ausprobieren, auch wenn es um Stipendienangebote geht. Und für mich bedeutet die Altersbeschränkung auch: anscheinend alles richtig gemacht, bis zur magischen 30. Dann hätte ich allerdings nicht Mutter werden dürfen, oder zumindest hätte ich mich für ein prekäres Muttersein entscheiden sollen statt für einen Brotberuf.

Einige Seiten informieren über die Thematik, wie etwa neulich in der ZEIT, oder diese Seite zum Thema Promovieren mit Kind. Hier möchte ich aber persönlich gerne eine Liste der Stipendiengeber hinstellen, die leider nicht mehr meine Altersgruppe fördern möchten. Warum nur? Ich habe intensiv studiert, und einen sehr guten Abschluss. Ich habe eine Familie und ein Kind und damit die berühmten Kompetenzen erworben, die man berufstätigen Müttern immer wieder zuspricht. Ich habe einen Brotberuf, den ich zeitlich mit Forschung und Weiterbildung vereinbaren muss – was mir immer wieder gelingt. Warum sollen also meine Aussichten schlecht sein, einem Stipendiengeber gerecht zu werden? Sollte es nicht möglich sein, wenigstens in der WETTBEWERB einzutreten um zu sehen ob andere mehr oder weniger anbieten können? Es ist das Ausgeschlossen – Werden, das mich ärgert. Und ich würde mir wünschen, dass diese Stiftungen zumindest den Wettbewerb öffnen – es gibt noch genügend andere Kriterien denen man genügen muss. Alter sollte nicht dazu gehören.

Stipendiengeber, die ich gerne anschreiben würde, aber nicht darf:

ASA – Programm

Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung

Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung

Weitere werden wohl folgen, im Rahmen meiner Suche.

P1120304

ENGLISH VERSION

For some time, I have been updating this blog about the scholarships I have been granted. Currently, there are some grants I´ve been applying to for the next year and I will write about them soon – as soon as I receive news on them. Today I would like to write about one aspect that has been bothering me for some time, but that’s normally excluded when you talk with other people about grants and scholarships. It´s about age.

When I got my first scholarships I was in my early/middle twenties and offered a somewhat extravagant field of study and fundamental research in a hitherto absolutely unexplored region of South America. That made me, apparently, a promising candidate for scholarships and I could finance my journey to this region as well as my M.A. research with a grant. My Ph.D. field study was financed as well by a grant – that was at age 29. After that, the situation changed fundamentally.

To have a spouse or a partner is no impediment to a scholarship – but a child is. After the birth of my son I wouldn’t rely any more on grants and precarious financiation. And the idea to find a real, at least minimally secure jobs in the field of Humanities was really laughable. So I turned to an office job which secured our family income for some years. A job that has nothing to do with my archaeological career but which feeds my family. Right now, my son has reached an age where I can turn to my scientific career once more. And searching for grants, financing, scholarships, has become one part of my night shift – apart from applying to job offers, writing articles and doing a Ph.D. in the small hours while everybody´s sleeping. And many of the web pages I visit searching for financiation have the following information concerning scholarships: “only applicants up to 30 years old….”. Sometimes it´s up to 35. That’s obsolete for me, I have passed both age limits. The decision to secure our income during 5 years with another job and to provide security to the family has closed many many doors to me – even now that the child has grown and my energy is again fully concentrated in the sciences. There are days when I really get angry wasting precious time on the internet searching grants and to read the conditions of all these foundations just to see that magic number that means: you searched in vain.

Of course there ARE scholarships without age limits. But they are very few. And I would like to apply to new foundations as well, foundations I haven’t applied before. And the age limit means to me: okay, it seems you did everything right  – until you became a mother at the age of 30. If only I didn’t have become a mother or if only I had lived some years on a precarious economic basis instead of offering my time to a job that brought bread on the table!

Sometimes you find articles about this problem, as the one on the newspaper ZEIT, or on the web page on doing a Ph.D. with (a) child/ren. But right here, I would like to publish a list of foundations that don’t offer the possibility to apply when your 30+. Why won´t they do it? I studied intensely, I´ve got an impressive M.A. I have got a family and a child and that helped me to develop the so called soft skills of working moms that are (theoretically) so much valued today. I have a job that has to be arranged with my Ph.D. and all the continuing qualifications I am acquiring. I have become a champion at doing all this without neglecting the family. So why do people think that I wont be able to fulfill all the requirements the foundation claims of their applicants? It would only be fair at least to OPEN the application to everybody and to let everybody compete on the grants offered. It’s the exclusion that drives me mad – not the fact that I maybe won´t get a grant. But I would like to have at least the opportunity to present myself and then leave the decision to the committee. There are so many criteria one has to fulfill to be financed. AGE should not be one of them.

And here goes the list of foundations I would like to apply to but am not allowed to:

ASA – Programm

Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung

Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung

The list will be growing as my search continues….

Leave a Reply

