Sprache der Dinge – Language of Things

Materialität, Realität und Konfliktivität in Museologie, Archäologie und anderen dinglichen Wissenschaften / Materiality, reality and conflictivity in museology, archaeology and other material sciences

Day of Archaeology on July 11th 2014!

Leave a comment

A while ago, I found out that there is something called “Day of Archaeology”.

For one day, archaeologists all over the world document their work on that particular day and put it online. This year I would like to see what colleagues all over the world are doing on this day and I would like to see a lot of details and different work environments  and that´s what I would like to contribute as well. Mainly because in the last years my archaeological work has been intensily confined by family and economic obligations, an aspect seldom mentioned in archaeology. Well economy and working conditions are always a topic, but I have found very little articles, blogs etc. that talk and write on the problems of having a family and still getting on with archaeological work. Nevertheless I love my work and get on with it as well as I can!

So, on July 11th I will record what I am doing and post it online and I am really looking forward to see what archaeologists from different countries and settings will contribute as well! If you like to get more information have a look at http://www.dayofarchaeology.com/category/day-of-archaeology-2014/

and follow them on Twitter with: #dayofarch !

Oh, and if you are interested in Archaeology & motherhood, there has been an interesting article lately on “archmamas“: http://campusarch.msu.edu/?p=2849

day of archaeology 2014 Sprechende Dinge

day of archaeology 2014 Sprechende Dinge

 

Leave a Reply

